Return of the Blog, or how I learned to hate my GemFile

So, I appear to have finally got this working again. No idea why jekyll broke, but I apparently needed to add gem 'json' got my GemFile to make it work again even though I hadn’t made any changes to the blog.

Regardless.

Updates

I GOT THE JOB!

I was referred for a new fpga position at a new company and I actually got the job. It’s an 18% pay increase, plus massive benefits and bonus plans, and I’m actually excited about the technology I get to work on, and best of all, IT’S NOT DEFENSE!

I’m terrified I’m not good enough, or I’m not going to do well, or they’re going to realize they made a mistake and ask me to leave, and any other thing my Imposter Syndrome has decided to tell me, but I’ve got friends who work there, I didn’t bullshit my resume or interview, I was honest when talking about the things I didn’t know, but still….

Now I’m mostly just ready to be done with my current job. Trying to wrap things up over my last 2 weeks, but it’s hard not just to take half days.

3D Printing

multiboard I’ve been printing more. I’m working on getting a test Multiboard setup printed for my desk before I commit to a large scale design.

I’m also finally upgrading from my Ender 3s. I’ve upgraded them and been mostly happy, but I’m tired of always having to tweak and fight with them rather than actually work on the projects I bought them for. So I pulled the trigger and bought a Bambu Labs X1C w/ AMS as a ‘new job’ and ‘birthday’ present for myself. It’s on its way.

Now I’m trying to figure out what to do with my Ender3s. I’m trying to find a local makerspace or school to donate them to.

Music

I’ve finally been getting back into playing guitar. I’ve been working on learning High on Fire - Snakes for the Divine.

Absolutely hellatious song. I can play it at full speed up to the solo, then I’m out. Need to practice that a bunch more, but eventually I’d like to do a guitar and vocal cover of it. We’ll see.

wrap up

All in all life is going pretty damn good right now. Can’t complain at least.